Ascend collection Sucks Customer Reviews and Feedback

From Everything.Sucks

Choice Hotels International, Inc. is a hospitality franchisor based in Rockville, Maryland, United States. The company, which is one of the largest hotel chains in the world, owns several hotel brands ranging from upscale to economy. As of March 31, 2019, Choice Hotels franchised 7,005 properties in 41 countries and territories worldwide, with approximately 568,112 rooms.

Lori mentioned in a review, "I was left to sleep in my car a few blocks from the hotel that was holding funds amounting to 2 nights stays plus 3 nights of incidentals and I never reserved nor stated a single night at the hotel. I went In to the hotel to book a room for the night using my Choice rewards. I was having difficulties with the website. I explained I wanted to use points, she asked how many people, how many nights (1, 1) then asked for my card and ID. She took them and then handed me the paper agreeing to Rate/no pets/no smoking. I did not sign because I said I was paying with points. She said she didn’t know how to do points so she had given me a 10% discount. I told her to refund my card and I would handle it some other way. She called her manager who told her how to do the cancellation and she handed me a paper. I went out to my car, called guest relations and they actually ended up booking me a room at another Choice hotel on points after adding some because I only had enough for a lesser hotel. All went well that night and it became necessary for me to stay a second night so I checked my bank to make sure I had adequate funds and found that I had 3 separate hold on my card and less than enough for a single room left available. I called reservations who were nice But could do nothing about the charges but offered to make a reservation and said I could contact guest relations and he was sure they would get it take care of....so he started going through the standard speech where I was told that once the reservation was made that it could not be cancelled or refunded, blah blah. I stopped him because if they didn’t handle it, I wouldn’t have any money to get home. I told him I would prefer to clear up the situation and then make the reservation. So I then called guest relations...held for almost 30 minutes, explained what had happened, held about 15 more minutes whilst they figured out what could be done and then was told, they couldn’t see the charges on their end so it was an issue for my bank. So I called my bank who could not release it because it had come from the hotel and had not been released by the hotel. I talked to the lady at the desk of the hotel I was at and she suggested I call the hotel directly because the hotel could release the charges. She assured me they could because her hotel can and they were not Comfort Suites. I got to the other hotel and the manager who had been called the night before was on duty. I explained what was happening, she told me they had done no charges, had submitted the cancellation and that I would simply have to wait for the release to be processed. I explained that there was not just the one hold but a second and she refused to listen until I showed her on my phone. She then took my phone and showed her “auditor” then she brought me a paper showing what she said was the charges they made and the reversals but nothing matched the monies being held. She also said she would ask the auditor to speed up the release but couldn’t promise anything and she also said that Choice couldn’t see what she saw regarding the charges so they were wrong to have told me it was released previously. So...I called guest relations back held for over 30 minutes, explained the situation again and explained that I really needed a room for that night because it was more that an 8 hour drive back home and I had no funds because of this situation. I was put on hold and then got disconnected. I called again, held about 20 minutes, had to tell my story again and then was told that all I could do was email the information to grdesk@choicehotels.com and wait for them to figure it out because she didn’t show any charges of any kind... I gave her the cancellation number from the paper and she said that was the wrong name so I went back into the hotel and the manager printed me the correct one..emailed all screen shots and documentation along with a digital “receipt” from the hotel in an amount that was still different from all of the other amounts that I had and waited....heard nothing, had to sleep in the car, still nothing, drove home yesterday and today the charges were reversed but I’ve heard not one thing from Choice except to receive 2 “You are such a valued customer that we invite you to sign up for a Choice Privileges credit card” emails. I think I’ll pass."

Reviews

Tell the world why Ascend collection sucks!
CLICK TO RATE

I certify that this review is based on my own experiece and is my opinion of this person or business. I have not been offered any incentive or payment to write this review.

Refresh

Enter Code

Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) says

"Better hope you don't have somebody died in your family and your life turned into a mess because you'll get fired. oh but they'll write you up for something completely different than what they actually fired you for.It's laid-back and chillEverybody there starts drama and lies"

Guest Service Agent / Night Auditor (Former Employee) says

"Not a good place to work. This corporation is very unethical in more ways than one. Run from them! They will stir up trouble behind your back, then fire you for confronting them about it. Management is scandalous, high turnover rates here and they will blacklist you from getting other jobs at hotels if you quit because they won’t pay you much."

Houseman (Former Employee) says

"Job was horrible hotel staff was rude management was the worst didnt know one care about doing anything right this job was a really bad decision needs new ownership"

Housekeeper (Former Employee) says

"The manager was terrible she couldn't manage well at all. We were always understaffed and forced to do extra work and the high turnover rate didn't help either many people left the job after only a day. The manager refused to hire someone to do the massive amounts of laundry we had so I had to go up and down 3 floors several times a day to see if there were any clean sheets/blankets."

Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) says

"No clear direction on the company's future .the company pays well but no one is very happy. Will never be a leader in the new book tools needed to compete in the 10 years ....Scary really !Pay goodAngry management style"

Housekeeper (Former Employee) says

"I worked there for seven months and it was under the table illegal though I cleaned at an average of five to seven rooms seven days a week only getting a break if nobody stayed at the hotel. I called only once when my husband passed away. No doubt in my mind that I should have been paid way more than $100 a week since I made way below minimum wage and wasn't able to maintain my car. If the environment was better, it was a job I liked, but it was exhausting and stressful due to lack of proper support. Ranger needs a hotel, but it needs to be managed legally.Tips were mineWasn't paid a decent wageThank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. We recommend that you provide your feedback on the Indeed page of the company that owns the hotel at which you were employed."

Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) says

"Suck they lied about hours Don't work there.. They don't appreciate hard and loyal workers Don't take the time to train people Very unprofessional atmosphereThank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. We recommend that you provide your feedback on the Indeed page of the company that owns the hotel at which you were employed."

Front desk (Former Employee) says

"The hotel wasnt the issue or the team I believe the team was perfect the issue in this particular hotel is the General manager the way she act and treat the employees is disgusting and childless is crazy ,no training but if you ain't handle your business is ok to tell corporate your employees did it good game !!Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. We recommend that you provide your feedback on the Indeed page of the company that owns the hotel at which you were employed."

Desk Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) says

"An unclean lobby environment with torn dirty carpet. The kitchen was not kept properly clean. Desk clerks had to maintain the dining area/kitchen. The place seems to attract persons of low standards as they were the majority of guests. Listened to other employees complain about wages, owner, some guests, fellow employees, some quit without notice and this includes me because I was treated badly. I came in to replace the day clerk on Sunday, the manager called and asked me to do this and I said yes. When I arrived, I was told to clean rooms, do laundry, etc. I can do none of that as I have no experience in either. I suspect it was the night clerk and not the owner who told me to do all this because she was a housekeeper and laundry employee anyway and could not keep up with the front desk work. I hated this job!Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. We recommend that you provide your feedback on the Indeed page of the company that owns the hotel at which you were employed."

Comfort Inn (Current Employee) says

"Absolutely terrible place to work. The management treats you like dirt. Only gives her daughter and grandchildren holidays off, and makes everyone else work holidays. No overtime. Micro-manager. Take my word for it, terrible place to work.Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. We recommend that you provide your feedback on the Indeed page of the company that owns the hotel at which you were employed."

Lead Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) says

"Kids running the show and they cant even put a vaccum together but wanna tell u how to do maintenance and pm and emp. pocket cash rooms n mold n roomsRoom discountsEverything else"

Senior Billing Analyst (Current Employee) says

"A typical day is full of meaningless meeting with micro management and the workplace culture is stressful.The hardest part of my job is making time to work in the office. We are reduced to working on weekends for lack of office time for working.work from hometerrible healthcare"

Front Desk Supervisor/ Agent (Former Employee) says

"My job was to Check in ALL guests (Reservation and Walk-in) as well as set future reservations for any guest that needed a reservation. I also had to answer phones, Respond to guest emails, Address complaints, Handle large amounts of cash along with Debit/Credit transactions. My Goal each day was to make sure each guest was comfortable in rooms, Unhappy/Unsatisfied guests always received the satisfaction they desiredMeeting guests from all over the worldNo benefits nor pay increase"

Comfort Inn housekeeper (Former Employee) says

"They treated employment bad as well as rooms and other people. They use foul language. The customers complain about spots being on sheets and mattresses but they don't do anything."

Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) says

"poor salary and no benefits at all.... but it is a very nice place to work since you always have 40 hours a week. co workers are nice.. management is very poor .... no rights for the employees spaecially the housekeeping,you make 40 hours a weekno health care ... no holidays..."

Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) says

"not paied enough for the work I did.job wasn't worth the time to go.dont recumend this to no one its not the job anyone should do for the few hours and the multipul duties you have to do.nonedont pay good"

House keeper (Former Employee) says

"I was super excited to start working here and then when they finally put me on the other housekeepers(girls) were snobby and rude (heather , mik-aylee and Cina ) i spoke to the new manager briefly and he was very rude as well. It was very disappointing. I went home crying most days .Discounts /relocating opportunitiesThe employees"

AUDITOR and FRONT DESK (Former Employee) says

"This was the worst dead end job I have ever had, but the people that worked there were great. The owners were nice, but focused only on spending less while expecting management to drive more revenue. I walked away from a management opportunity here because I saw it only as an opportunity to fail. One of the easiest jobs I ever had, but also one of the lowest paying jobs I had in awhile.Lots of down time, great people to work withVery poor work environment"

Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) says

"I didn't like working for this company. They were like Hitler when it came to the life and work balance absolutely terrible. I was told I was being considered for a full time position and stopped from putting in my 2week notice and turned down job offers all because of a lie my supervisor told me. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone.Working from homeThe lies, and how nasty they are about schedules"

Supervisor (Former Employee) says

"remember the people calling to make reservations. good management team. gave out new information as soon as possible. center has closed its Grand Junction locations."

Social Media

In The News

Everything.sucks is a non-profit organization and communications forum for social activism. This website allows users a voice to share their point of view online about what sucks in the world.

We occasionally buy a dot sucks domain and point it at a specific page. We do this to bring awareness to our site and because, well, we love the dot sucks domain. If you ask us if we would sell the domain, our answer is simple. Absolutely not. We will give it to you.

If the domain pointing at this page inspires passion in you and you want to build a fuller site around it, you can have it. That’s right, we will simply give it to you. We want to promote more sites on the Internet where people can share their voices.

To make it as simple as possible for you to have this domain, simply take this Authorization Code to your favourite domain name registrar, and they can transfer it right to you.

AUTH CODE: 4G1iVEZQG_#,]Oj[

We are all about feedback. If you have some thoughts for us, you can email us at feedback@everything.sucks